DubbSkii

Senseless Ramblings

Must Be Love…

with one comment

Lately, I’ve been having some separation anxiety.

Enter, my new boo:

My Baby is Green

My Baby is Green

Thursday, I thought I lost my baby.  I was downright frantic and breaking out in a nervous sweat.  I was back to carrying plastic water bottles and dirtying the Earth.  Where was the Camelbak?!  Luckily, I found it in my trunk on Saturday.

I’m trying to keep myself together – upping the H2O intake and what not.  I was doing good with the whole workout thing.  Last week I got in a couple runs and a 1hr Bikram Yoga session.  This week? Only a run at the gym.  Lately, I haven’t been leaving the lab until after 8pm.  By the time I get home, I don’t usually feel like going back out to the gym.  Yesterday it worked for me, but tonight I opted to stay in and catch up on Law & Order: SVU and CSI: NY.

I need to get my academic life in order.  I was kind of down this week after recieving a rejection letter from the National Academies.  Even though I was put on the wait list which is their honorable mention, I’m still disappointed.  I wanted that fellowship.  I don’t want to be in the same place in a couple of months, so I’m trying to clearly form the bigger picture surrounding my project.

On a positive note, my Evolutionary Genetics course is almost over.  The only thing I left is a presentation of my written proposal and a couple more classes where I’ll listen to other people present.  Easy enough.

Things in the lab are coming along at a steady rate.  Too bad it’s a SLOW steady rate.  Cloning has been kicking my butt the past couple of weeks, and I hope to work smarter, not harder over the next couple of days to crank out some results.

I still have not formed my committee.  I’m all the way slacking on that.  If I don’t get that in order I’ll find myself between a rock and a hard place when it’s time for my prelim.  Oh, boy….

Written by zdubb

04/15/2009 at 9:53 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Super post, Need to mark it on Digg
    Have a nice day

    Elcoj

    04/20/2009 at 6:39 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

